Division of Agriculture

University of Arkansas

 

Rice Research and Culture

Online Databases

AGRICOLA 1970-. (Free on the web and also by subscription from vendors)

The AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) database contains the bibliographic records of materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences.

E-mail: http://www.nal.usda.gov/AGRICOLA/agricolaMail.html

URL: http://agricola.nal.usda.gov/

AGRIS, 1975-. (Free on the web and also by subscription from vendors)

FAO Headquarter Viale delle Terme di Caracalla 00100 Rome, Italy

E-mail: mailto:webmaster@fao.org

URL: http://www.fao.org/agris/

BIOSIS/Previews, 1969-. (Subscription required)

Thomson Scientific
Customer Support Desk
3501 Market Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104

BIOSIS Previews® contains citations from Biological Abstracts® (BA), and Biological Abstracts/Reports, Reviews, and Meetings® (BA/RRM) (formerly BioResearch Index®), the major publications of BIOSIS. All plant sciences subjects are comprehensively covered.

E-mail: mailto:info@biosis.org

URL: http://thomsonreuters.com/products_services/science/science_products/scholarly_research_analysis/research_discovery/biological_abstracts

CAB Abstracts, 1910-. (Subscription required)

Published by:
CAB International
Wallingford
Oxon.
OX10 8DE
UK

CAB Abstracts is the most comprehensive bibliographic, abstracting and indexing database in its field. CAB Abstracts covers all aspects of plant sciences as well as food science.

E-mail: mailto:cabi-nao@cabi.org

URL: http://www.cabi.org/

CARIS (FAO)

Current Agricultural Research Information System is international in scope. It was created in 1975 to identify and to facilitate exchange of information about current agricultural research projects. 137 national and 20 international and intergovernmental centers participate in CARIS. This system includes ongoing and recently completed research projects in agriculture including many on rice.

URL: http://www.fao.org/agris/

Food Science and Technology Abstracts, 1969- . (Subscription required)

IFIS Publishing
Lane End House
Shinfield Road
Shinfield
Reading RG2 9BB
UK

This database provides an extensive collection of abstracts prepared from the world's food science, food technology and food-related human nutrition literature. FSTA covers the whole range of topics that relate to every stage of the food chain. There are over 655,000 records in the database - from 1969 to present - with over 2000 new abstracts added every month.

E-mail: mailto:ifis@ifis.org

URL: http://www.ifis.org/

Gramene

(Gramene) Lists several sites for rice genome sequencing efforts, a complete listing of rice (Oryza sp.) sequences; rice and other cereal crops database; and rice recipes.

URL: http://www.gramene.org/resources/#database

Myongji University

This site includes the Rice EST database, rice map, rice gene database

URL: http://bioserver.myongji.ac.kr/ricemac.html

Oryzabase

The Oryzabase is a comprehensive rice science database established in 2000 by rice researcher's committee in Japan. The database is originally aimed to gather as much knowledge as possible ranging from classical rice genetics to recent genomics and from fundamental information to hot topics. The Oryzabase consists of five parts, (1) genetic resource stock information, (2) gene dictionary, (3) chromosome maps, (4) mutant images, and (5) fundamental knowledge of rice science. We are planning to do more extensive cross-referencing of Oryzabase to the major DNA sequence database, literature database and other plant databases in order to provide the wealth of information to rice researchers.

URL: http://www.shigen.nig.ac.jp/rice/oryzabase/top/top.jsp

PubMed, 1950- (Free on the web)

Published by: National Library of Medicine
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethseda, MD 20894

This database provides over 7400 records on oryza sativa.

E-mail: http://wwwns.nlm.nih.gov/

URL: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi

Research in Progress

CRIS is the U.S. Department of Agriculture documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research and education projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry. Projects are conducted or sponsored by USDA research agencies, state agricultural experiment stations, the state land-grant university system, other cooperating state institutions, and participants in a number of USDA-administered grant programs.

URL: http://cris.csrees.usda.gov/

Science Citation Index, 1945- (Subscription)

Published by: Thomson ISI 3501 Market Street, Philadelphia , PA 19104

Database covering journal articles in all areas of science and technology. Database has standard indexing for over 7,000 journals but also provides the references for all articles. Citation indexing allows for the searching of cited references so that a network of researchers in a field could be identified.

E-mail: http://www.isinet.com/

URL: http://thomsonreuters.com/products_services/science/science_products/a-z/science_citation_index

© University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
Contact Us
Last modified: August 31, 2009
Valid CSS!
Phone: 479.575.4101
Toll-free: 866.818.8115
Fax: 479.575.6656