University of Arkansas Logo
University of Arkansas Libraries StaffWeb


""
Glossary of Library Terms
Google
The Internet The University The University Libraries

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M
N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

abstract
A short summary of a work. Also a periodical index which includes short summaries of the works listed.

acquisitions
All aspects of the process of ordering and receiving library materials through purchase, gift, or exchange. Also a library department (Acquisitions Department).

annuals
1. Periodicals which are published once a year, usually in the form of reference books.
2. The Razorback and the older yearbook, the Cardinal, can be found under the call number LD 238 .R3 in the MAIN collection and in the Special Collections Department. The most recent year of the Razorback is located in the Reference Collection. The library usually does not purchase college or high school annuals (yearbooks).

ARK COLL
The location code located above the call number designating the Arkansas Collection, located in Special Collections, Level 1 north.

articles
A contribution written by one or more persons for publication in a periodical. In order to access articles, library users need to use an index. Refer library users to the Reference Desk for assistance in finding the appropriate index for their research.

attendance
Library staff cannot sign forms verifying an individual's presence in the library for study hall.

AV, audiovisual
located on Level One west, now called "Performing Arts and Media." Houses audio and video recordings as well as music scores. You may see an AV location code above the call number. Ask at the service desk for assistance.

barcode
A visual code representing alpha-numeric symbols arranged in a series of vertical parallel lines or bars, representing data. It is read by a barcode scanner as digital signals for entry in a computer database. Used in many forms of automated library circulation systems.

bibliography
1. A list of the books and other materials used in writing a paper.
2. A list of works dealing with a given topic.

binding
The Binding Department, a unit of the Collection Management Services and Systems Division, is located on Level Two and is open Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Periodical check-in records in InfoLinks will indicate the binding status. TO BIND indicates that materials have been sent out to the commercial binder; the record will include the date that the material was sent to the bindery. Material will be available after 4 weeks. A status of BIND PREP indicates that materials are located in the Binding Department and may be available for use. A form is available outside the service window for leaving requests when the Binding Department is closed.

blind, sight-impaired
Circulation staff can assist library users with sight disabilities by retrieving materials to be checked out or photocopied from the stacks. A text-enlarger is available for use in AV, Level 1. Students with disabilities are asked to register with the Center for Students with Disabilities (ARKU 104, telephone 575–3104) to receive services provided.

book review
A brief book evaluation published in a periodical or newspaper.

branch libraries
The University Libraries system includes four branch libraries: Chemistry (temporarily located in the Physics Library), Fine Arts, Law, and Physics. These libraries specialize in book collections for a particular field of study and scholarship. Information about these branches is listed in this manual and on the Library home page.

call number
A unique set of letters and numbers assigned to a work to describe its subject contents and to determine its placement on the shelves. UA library materials, including magazines and journals, are arranged by Library of Congress call numbers. Consult InfoLinks to find call numbers for books and journals. Reference staff can help you identify call numbers for materials we own.

Call Number and Location Guide
A slip of paper found at all public service desks noting the floor levels and areas of call number ranges.

carrels
Faculty studies and graduate carrels, located on Levels 3 and 4, are available for graduate students and faculty on a first-come, first-served basis. Graduate carrel sign-ups are usually the first day of the fall and spring semesters. Ask at the Circulation Desk for more information on graduate carrels. Ask in the Dean's Office to apply for a faculty study.

catalogs
Copies of the current UA graduate and undergraduate catalogs are located at the Reference Desk. Older copies can be found under the call number MAIN LD 226 .A4. Archived copies are located in the Special Collections Department. Check InfoLinks for other university catalogs.

cell phone
Cell phone use is allowed in the lobby.

change
The Circulation Desk staff can usually give change for up to $20.

check-cashing
The library does not cash personal checks. The Circulation Desk staff will take a personal check for the amount of a fine only.

Chemistry Library
During the period that the Chemistry Building is being renovated, the Chemistry Library collections and services are temporarily located in the Physics Library (Room 221 in the Physics Building, telephone 575-2505).

circulation policies
Library users will need a valid UA picture ID to check out books or reserve materials, or to pick up interlibrary loan materials. Students may check out up to 100 books; faculty up to 500 books. Loan periods for books are for 16 weeks unless recalled. Bound periodicals (magazines, journals) do not check out except to faculty and graduate students. Unbound journals do not circulate, except in special cases. Materials can be renewed through InfoLinks, using the individual's UARK username and password or, for community borrowers, a last name and nine-digit UD number. Library users who are not affiliated with the University can apply for library privileges at the Circulation Desk.

citation
Information which differentiates one work from another. For a book, the citation includes at least the author, editor, or corporate name, title, edition, publisher, place of publication, and date. For periodical articles, the citation includes at least the author, article title, periodical title, volume, issue, pages, and year. For newspaper articles, the citation includes title, section, page number, column number, and author if it is one that is signed.

class schedules/racing forms
A current class schedule can be found online through the University's home page. Older paper copies of schedules are kept in Special Collections.

classes
Library instruction classes meet in MULN Room 104 or MULN Room 102. To find out where or when a class is meeting, call Reference at 575-6645.

closing
Check-out and research assistance at library service desks ceases 15 minutes before the building closes to allow employees to complete departmental closing tasks. The public address system will inform patrons as closing time approaches.

Collection Management Services and Systems Division
Library operations which involve ordering, processing, cataloging, binding, and preserving and maintaining library materials. A sign, labeled "Technical Services," on Level 2 near the Binding window directs library users to the departments in this division. Departments in this division include Acquisitions, Binding, Cataloging, Electronic Collections and Services, Preservation, Serials, and Special Collections. This division also includes the Systems Department, which is responsible for computers and networks in the libraries.

compact discs, recordings, videos
For audiovisual materials, check InfoLinks by author, composer, title, subject, or keyword. If needed, ask for assistance at the AV or Reference Desk. All compact discs for sound recordings can be checked out by anyone with a UA picture ID.

complaints
We want to hear about any problems a library user encounters. The library user can complete a "User Response Form" and drop it in the suggestion box in the west lobby or at any service desk. You can also type suggestions by clicking on the "Make a Suggestion" button from the library home page. The Dean of Libraries is Carolyn Henderson Allen, the Associate Dean is Juana Young, the Director for Public Services is Alberta S. Bailey, the Director for Collection Management Services and Systems is Judy Ganson, the Director of Library Development is Benjamin K. Carter, and the Director for Organizational Development (including personnel) is Janet Parsch.

computer labs
University Information Technology Services (UITS) operates a general access computer lab on Level 2 in Mullins Library. You may use e-mail, type papers, and connect to the Internet on these computers. A computer "lab op" assistant is available to help with questions or problems with these computers. A campus map of additional computer labs is located on the University's home page. Students with a current UA ID may check out laptop computers at the Circulation Desk.

copiers, copy cards
Locations of copiers are noted on the floor plans. A machine to purchase Guest Copy Cards or add value to Razorbuck$ accounts is located in the Copy Room, MULN 221, inside the Periodicals Room. For help with copiers, reader/printers, or VendaCard machines, ask at the Periodicals Service Desk or call 575-5312. Refunds are not provided by the library. If you lose money in a coin-operated copier, you must go to Copy Central for assistance, located in the Intermodal Transit Facility, Room 305, phone 575-6065.

current issues of journals
Current issues of a journal may be held in one of several places:

  • Periodicals room
    • microfiche
    • microfilm
    • on open shelves or on poles (newspapers)
    • or behind the service desk
  • MAIN collection (Levels 1, 3, and 4, depending on the call number)
  • Binding/Binding Prep (status of BIND PREP or TO BIND).

electronic subscriptions through InfoLinks
It is important to know how to check for current issues in our online catalog, InfoLinks. LIB HAS, DISPLAY HOLDINGS, and the Check-in Record will give you holdings, locations, and format information for a journal that the library owns. A dash after the date means that the library is still receiving the journal (for example, v.1-, 1921-). When dates are closed with a period, then the library stopped getting the journal in that year (for example, v.1-25; 1965-1990), or the journal may have changed titles, in which case there should be a link to the new title. Refer library users to the Reference Desk if they are having trouble locating a current periodical or interpreting a journal citation.

deaf, hearing-impaired
There is a TTY phone device behind the east Circulation Desk for hearing-impaired library users.

depository library
A library legally designated to receive some or all of the U.S. documents approved for distribution by the Superintendent of Documents. Mullins Library is a depository library.

Dean's Office
The Dean's Office is located on Level 2 west and is open Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

dissertations
All UA theses and dissertations are cataloged in InfoLinks. There is usually a circulating copy of each dissertation in MAIN and an archival copy in Special Collections. For other university dissertations, check InfoLinks under title or author; some may be available. The library subscribes to Dissertation Abstracts International online. Ask at the Reference Desk for assistance in locating dissertations.

DISPLAY HOLDINGS
DISPLAY HOLDINGS is a feature on InfoLinks that shows journal title, call number, and LIB HAS (holdings statement). Click on DISPLAY HOLDINGS for a journal record in InfoLinks. Note: When viewing a LIB HAS (holdings statement), a dash after a date means that the library is still receiving that journal (for example, v.1-, 1921-). When dates are closed, then the library has either discontinued the subscription or there is a title change (for example, v.1-25; 1965-1990). Journal citations are complicated. Send library users to the Reference Desk if they are having trouble locating a journal or journal articles.

documents
U.S. federal documents are housed in Government Documents, Level 4. Ask at the service window for assistance.

donations
Book and periodical donations are handled through the Collection Management Services and Systems Division. Please contact Judy Ganson at 575-2130. For monetary donations, please contact the Dean's Office at 575-6702

due dates
Stamped on the date-due slip in checked-out books. There is a grace period of four days before fines begin to accrue. Library users are billed also for the grace period after the fourth day. Books may be renewed through InfoLinks by accessing your library account, by telephone, or in person at the Circulation Desk.

e-mail
There are computers for e-mail in the library's general access computer lab, Level 2 east. There are additional computers for e-mail on Levels 3 and 4, in the curve of the east stairwell.

electronic databases
Check InfoLinks or ask a librarian at the Reference Desk for more information on the library's electronic resources and databases.

Fine Arts Library
The Fine Arts Library is located in the Fine Arts Building, Room 104, telephone 575-4708. Hours of operation are located on the library home page.

fines
Fines up to $3.00 may be paid at the Circulation Desk; fines in excess of $3.00 per fine must be paid at the Treasurer's Office.

fire alarms
See evacuation procedures in your department and at the east and west service desks.

food, drinks, and tobacco products
Food and tobacco products are not allowed in the library. Drinks must be in approved containers and kept in non-restricted areas. Signs in the library indicate "no drink zones." Library staff may eat their lunch and take breaks in the Staff Lounge or outside the library. Smoking and tobacco products of any kind are not permitted in any area of the library.

government documents (GovD)
The Government Documents collection is located on Level 4 east. Check at the Government Documents service window for specific publications or information published by the federal government.

holds/recalls
Materials that are checked out to another patron can be placed on hold or recall. The patron making the request will be notified when the material is returned to the library. Holds and recalls can be requested at the Circulation Desk, or through InfoLinks using the my library account feature. Materials with a status of IN PROCESS can be placed on hold. Circulation staff will not place a hold on a book with the InfoLinks status CHECK SHELVES.

hours
UA Libraries' (Mullins Library and the four branch libraries) hours of operation, as well as telephone numbers, are located on the library home page.

ILLiad
The UA Libraries' interlibrary loan electronic system. See the library home page, reference librarians, or Interlibrary Loan Department for assistance with ILLiad.

INDEX
INDEX is a location designating the Reference INDEX collection on Level 2 (REF-INDEX).

InfoLinks
InfoLinks is the online library catalog for the University of Arkansas Libraries, which includes the main library (Mullins Library) as well as four branch libraries. InfoLinks includes records for whole books, periodicals, microforms, audio and video recordings, musical scores, government documents, and some maps. InfoLinks does not provide citations to journal articles. Ask at the Reference Desk for assistance with InfoLinks.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Library users conducting research often need materials not available in the University Libraries. The Interlibrary Loan staff obtains these materials from other cooperating libraries, consortia, and document suppliers. Library users may make requests electronically through ILLiad. The Interlibrary Loan Department is located on Level 2 east.

IN PROCESS
IN PROCESS indicates that the volume has been received, but is still being cataloged or is in transit. Library users can request IN PROCESS items electronically through InfoLinks or request the item at the Circulation Desk. Materials generally take 24 to 48 hours to be cataloged on a rush basis.

item record
An item record is a record of a specific magazine issue that is linked to a bibliographic record found in the online library catalog, InfoLinks.

job applications
Those seeking hourly or work-study positions in the library should apply in the Library Human Resources Office, Level 2 west. Applications are available at the Circulation Desk. Full-time positions are posted in the UA Human Resources Department, Administration Building, and online.

journal
A journal is a periodical which contains scholarly articles. ("Journal," "periodical," "magazine," and "serial" are often used interchangeably without regard to nuances of each word.)

journal articles
Journal articles are available in print and online. Ask for assistance at the Reference Desk for locating articles on your research topic.

keyword
A keyword is a descriptor (word) taken from the title, abstract, or text of a work.

keyword search
For many library users, a keyword search is the best way to search for books on a specific topic. Try keyword searching when subject searching does not retrieve any useful information. In InfoLinks, keywords are taken from titles, Library of Congress subject headings, notes, sponsoring organizations, and conference names. Staff at the Reference Desk can help library users search InfoLinks.

LATEST IN...
The statement "LATEST IN..." indicates that the most recent year is housed apart from older volumes, usually in the Periodicals Room or Reference Department collection.

Law Library
All UA students may use the Law Library in the Leflar Law Center, WATR 213, 575–5051. Hours of operation can be found through the library home page.

Library of Congress call number
The Library of Congress call number (or LC number) is a system developed by the U.S. Library of Congress in 1897 for assigning a unique set of numbers and letters to a work. The Library of Congress classification system is the primary call number system used in the University Libraries system.

lost and found
The library's lost and found is located at the Circulation Desk on Level 2. The phone number is 575-4104.

magazines
Magazines are general interest periodicals, in contrast to scholarly journals.

MAIN
MAIN is an InfoLinks location that means main library, main stacks, or main collection. MAIN materials are shelved on Levels 1, 3, and 4 of Mullins Library.

microforms (microfiche, microfilm)
Microforms are located in the Periodicals Room, Level 2. You can make copies from microfilm or microfiche with a copy card.

MISSING
MISSING is a status that indicates that the Circulation staff is searching for a volume not on the shelf. A MISSING4 status means that the library is trying to replace the book. Library users needing a book with the status of MISSING should check with Reference about an interlibrary loan or other options.

monograph
A monograph is a book.

newspapers
The library has subscriptions to a number of current newspapers from around the country and the world. They are housed in the Periodicals Room, Level 2. The backfiles of selected newspapers are kept on microfilm or microfiche in the Periodicals Room and can be found by searching InfoLinks.

not on shelf
Usually whole books and bound journals can be found under their proper call number. However, the patron may have had difficulty interpreting the call number and location. Before completing a search request at the Circulation Desk, assist the patron by checking the status and location in InfoLinks. Suggest that the patron check the Level 3 sorting area and also check with reference staff.

OCLC
Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) is a database containing bibliographic records representing materials owned by libraries throughout the world. OCLC FirstSearch is a major worldwide library database catalog.

ON ORDER
Indicates that the material has not yet been received by the library. Library users can request the book through InfoLinks or at the Circulation Desk. They will be notified by e-mail when the book is available for check-out.

OPAC
Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC) is the version of InfoLinks which the public sees, in contrast to the staff version.

OV, oversize
In InfoLinks, a location of MAIN-OV means that materials are too large to shelve in regular call number order. Two extended ranges house the MAIN-OV collection on Level 3 west. There is also an oversize collection housed in the Reference Department (REF-OV).

Performing Arts and Media
located on Level One west, previously called "Audiovisual." Houses audio and video recordings as well as music scores. You may see an AV location code above the call number. Ask at the service desk for assistance.

periodical
A magazine published at regular intervals (periodically) containing a group of separate articles.

periodical index
A list providing citation information describing where specific topics, authors, etc., can be found in periodicals. An index may be in print and/or electronic format.

Periodicals Room
The Periodicals Room, located on Level 2, houses many, but not all, current periodicals, newspapers, as well as microfilm, microfiche, and a photocopy room.

Physics Library
The Physics Library is located in the Physics Building, PHYS 221, telephone 575–2505. Hours of operation are located on the library home page.

posters
Permission to display posters or announcements may be obtained in the Dean's Office, Level 2 west.

preservation
All activities that are performed in the library to extend the life of library materials and provide access to the information held within the materials for future generations.

public services and Public Services Division
Library services which involve direct contact with the library user by library staff. Departments in the Public Services Division include Audiovisual, Circulation, Distance Education, Government Documents, Interlibrary Loan, Periodicals, and Reference.

Razorback
Volumes of the Razorback and the older yearbook, the Cardinal, can be found under the call number LD 238 .R3 in the MAIN collection and in Special Collections. The most recent volume is in the Reference collection.

ready reference
Refers to a collection of books housed at the Reference Desk, Level 2, which provide quick access to facts.

recalls/holds
Materials that are checked out to another patron can be placed on recall if they have a due date longer than two weeks. A hold will allow the patron to be notified when the material is returned. Holds and recalls can be placed at the Circulation Desk or through InfoLinks. The Circulation staff will not place a hold on a book with the status CHECK SHELVES. Materials with a status of IN PROCESS or ON ORDER can also be placed on hold. Processing of IN PROCESS and ON ORDER materials is rushed when a hold is placed on them.

reference
A reference is a citation. It also is a function of the public services unit of the same name whose staff refers or guides the library user to information sources.

Reference Department
Reference librarians assist library users in finding and using library materials.

reserve
Course reserves, books and photocopies placed on reserve for class use are housed at the Circulation Desk. You can search InfoLinks' Reserve Lists under professor or course number to view items placed on reserve for a class. Instructors who want to place material on reserve should complete the forms available at the Circulation Desk. Some library users (and InfoLinks) still refer to current periodicals as "reserve" or "reserve reading room." They should be directed to the Periodicals Room Desk for current magazines or journals or to the Circulation Desk for course reserves.

search request
A form which may be filled out by the patron when materials are not found on the shelf. Circulation staff will search for the missing items and notify the patron when the materials are found.

senior walk
Senior Walk maps are located online through the University home page. For information on the history of senior walk, check with Special Collections or the Reference Desk.

serial
A serial is a publication which is issued in parts on a continuing basis. A broader term which includes journals, periodicals, magazines, newspapers, proceedings, etc. Serials Department is a part of the library Collection Management Services and Systems Division.

Sorting Area
Located on the west side of Level 3, where books and journals go to be sorted and re-shelved. Materials are generally re-shelved within one day, but at the busiest time of year it can take longer. Library users should check the sorting area first for materials not found on shelves.

SPEC COLL
The call number location designating Special Collections, Level 1 north.

STORA / STORB / storage a and b
Lower-use and older materials in offsite storage can be retrieved by requesting them online through ILLiad or at the Circulation Desk. Materials is storage are generally available within 1-2 working days, depending on the time of day the request is submitted.

stacks
Rows of book shelves on Levels 1, 3, and 4 which hold the MAIN library collection.

subject
When searching InfoLinks under subject, library users must use the subject headings assigned by the Library of Congress. It is always a good idea to try a keyword search if a subject search is unsuccessful.

SuDoc call number
A cataloging system developed by the U.S. Superintendent of Documents for assigning a unique set of letters and numbers to a U.S. government publication.

tax forms
Many U.S. and state tax forms are available from the Government Documents office on Level 4 east.

telephone directories
Reference has white and yellow pages for some U.S. and foreign cities as well as all Arkansas towns and cities. If the library does not own the directory that you need, ask at the Reference Desk for tips on searching an online telephone directory. The Fayetteville Public Library maintains telephone books on microfiche.

theses
All UA theses and dissertations are cataloged in InfoLinks; you can search by author, title, and subject. There is usually a circulating copy of each UA thesis and dissertation in MAIN and an archival copy in Special Collections.

unshelved books
Unshelved books picked up from all areas of the library may be located in the Sorting Area, Level 3 west.

U.S. DOC
A location designating a U.S. document, Level 4 east.

videos
Videos are located in the Audiovisual Department on Level 1 west. Check InfoLinks under author, title, subject, etc., to locate them, or try a word search, combining your topic with the keyword "video recording." Ask for assistance at the service desk in AV or at the Reference Desk.

Viewing Room (Room 104)
The Viewing Room is located on Level 1 south across from the Audiovisual Department. Instructors make arrangements to give a lecture or show a film by calling or visiting the AV service desk.

volume
A printed, physical entity. Also, the similarly numbered issues of a periodical, bound or unbound, covering a defined publishing period.

wireless laptops
Wireless laptop computers may be checked out at the Circulation Desk by current UA students with a UA picture ID. The loan period is 2 hours in-library use only. Laptops can only be used in the Periodicals Room, the Helen Robson Walton Reading Room, and the study rooms on the third floor immediately above these two rooms. Laptops cannot be removed from the library. Ask at the Circulation Desk for assistance.

work-study employment
The Libraries are always looking for motivated students with work-study financial aid awards. Students should check with the Library Human Resources Office (MULN 213A, telephone 575-3080) for job information.

yearbooks
Volumes of the Razorback and the older yearbook, the Cardinal, can be found under the call number LD 238 .R3 in the MAIN collection and in Special Collections. The most recent volume is in the Reference collection. The library does not purchase high school yearbooks for the collection. Yearbook is also a term used to define an annual compilation of facts and statistics of any given year.

zip codes
Zip code directories are available at Reference.

[Top]


© University of Arkansas Libraries
365 N. McIlroy Ave.
Fayetteville, AR 72701-4002
Phone: 479.575.4101
Toll-free: 866.818.8115
Fax: 479.575.6656

Contact Us
Last modified:
Monday, July 28, 2008